Week 13: Dream Big

Out of all the time I have spent in Italy I feel like I have been in a movie, this weekend especially. While I was in Rome all I could picture is Lizzie McGuire being an international singer and finding the love of her life. No, neither of those things happened to me but I was just as happy as Lizzie. We walked around many beautiful parts of Rome, seeing all the ‘must sees’. IMG_4554.jpgOn the first day we were able to see the Pantheon, the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Walking through these three historic places was incredible. Looking and learning about these monuments that were built hundreds was an experience hard to explain. Although some of them were not all there, I think that is the best part. The character within them is a sight to see; luckily I will have the chance to go back with my parents. On Saturday we spent another lovely day in Rome, going to the Trevi Fountain, The Vatican Museum and St. Peters Basilica. At night my friends and I did a little bit of shopping and went out to dinner. It was a fun way to spend a night with the girls especially because we had a hot waiter. IMG_3961.jpgSunday was the day I have been waiting for all weekend, the day I get blessed by the pope. Getting blessed by the pope, I always thought, was a far-fetched dream of mine. I never imagined myself living in Italy for four months but here I am! This experience reminded me to never give up on a dream. Even before getting blessed by Papa Francisco I was beyond blessed. I have an amazing life, and I could not be more thankful. Throughout these past couple months I have learned to go after things I want and to simply make myself happy.

IMG_4591.jpg

Looking forward: Berlin, Germany but more importantly I get to see my best friends in less then a week!! Watch out Italy Monica and John are coming!

Published by: aliserafoth

I made the decision to come to Florence about a year ago. Although I decided a long time ago I did not believe I was truly going. Listening to the amazing memories past students made encouraged me to go. Before leaving I had fearful thoughts running through my head at all times. How am I going to adjust? Will anybody speak English? Did I make the right decision? And the one question that never left my head...How am I going to function without my family. After thinking more and more about these questions I found the answer to all of them. If I was not able to adjust or function without my wonderful family, God would have somehow stopped me. I am here not because of luck but because this was in God's plan for me.

1 Comment

One thought on “Week 13: Dream Big”

Leave a comment