Week 14: Berlin, Germany & The Best Hug Since August

A short trip to Berlin but many lessons learned. Exploring a city with history so recent was a touching experience.IMG_4780.jpg On Saturday morning my friends and I did a walking tour of the beautiful city. This tour was my favorite one since I have been in Europe. During this tour I was able to see the exact place where terrible events took place. Our first stop that left an impression on me was the Memorial to the Murdered Jews. Yes this sounds dark and horrific but it was not, which is why it was my favorite. The architect of the memorial did not design it to be the typical memorial with tombs and religious symbols. Instead this memorial was plain cement slabs all different heights with unleveled grounds. Before telling us the meaning of why the architect did this, our tour guide had us enter the memorial and see how we feel. Entering this place most of the group I was with had the same feelings. Looking up at the tall slabs I felt so small and insignificant. IMG_4733.jpgIt was impossible to know what was going to be next, causing me to feel lost and confused. All of these feelings, plus many more, is how the victims of the concentration camp had to feel. Not knowing what would be on the other side of the wall, feeling so helpless and little. Thinking about all the feelings they went through was heartbreaking. The answer why the architect did this design is to leave it open ended. He did not know how the victims felt, he could only imagine. Just like me, he did not know the thoughts they had running through their heads and he did not want to assume anything. For me, this was so true. None of us lived this horrific time; therefore we can only assume how they felt.  The next stop on the tour explained to us how the Germans got through this hard time.  It was as simple has it could be, whip out the bad memories and do not bring it back up.  As we were walking to the next destination, our tour guidestopped in a car parking lot.  Looking around it looked as if it was any other spot in Berlin.  LIMG_4737.jpgater we found out this is were Hitlers bunk was. Eight feet under were I was standing is where Hitler hide for four months.  This parking lot is not broadcasted as Hitlers bunk because the Germans did not want to be reminded of this horrible time in their live.  The only thing left of Hitler is the history.

 

Now to lighten up this post my parents finally arrived. After three amazing but long months, I finally got a familiar hug. To get a hug from my parents was much better then any food I have eaten, any beach I have been to and any beautiful city I went to. To have my parents here has been incredible and most importantly I do not think I have stopped laughing since. As much as I would love to tell you all about everything we have seen in the past couple day I cannot post it in this weeks post. My parents have way more energy for me! Next time I will catch you all up. Enjoy your turkey and of course eat some pie for me!

IMG_4822.jpg

Looking forward: lots of smiles and wine with my parents!

Published by: aliserafoth

I made the decision to come to Florence about a year ago. Although I decided a long time ago I did not believe I was truly going. Listening to the amazing memories past students made encouraged me to go. Before leaving I had fearful thoughts running through my head at all times. How am I going to adjust? Will anybody speak English? Did I make the right decision? And the one question that never left my head...How am I going to function without my family. After thinking more and more about these questions I found the answer to all of them. If I was not able to adjust or function without my wonderful family, God would have somehow stopped me. I am here not because of luck but because this was in God's plan for me.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment