Week 15: Home is Where the Heart is

This past week was exactly what I needed, my mom and dad. I went three months without laughing with my best friends. Spending time with them has always been the best time, but spending time with them in Italy made it even better. The three of us roamed the streets laughing at each other and taking in the culture. I was able to show them all of myIMG_5159.jpg favorite things to do in the beautiful city of Florence.  They were able to live a week in my shoes, leather markets, lots of pizza and of course lots of shopping.  One of the best parts about this week was it was just us being us.  This past week we went to Venice, Rome, Siena and Viterabo. In each town we had an interesting experience. Whether it was birds attacking us or getting lost in beautiful cities, we still had an incredible time. This past week the three of us made countless memories, but I am finding it very hard to write about them. The most important memory I had over this week is the feeling I had when I saw their cab pull up to the hotel. Nothing out of the ordinary happened but it was a feeling I had not had in months, a feeling of warm and comfort. This feeling is impossible to describe but it is easy to imagine, think of a time where everything just fell into place. The world paused for a moment and everything was flawless. As I am sitting in bed writing this blog I am wishing I could be drinking wine with them, but hey only seventeen more days and I will be.

Looking forward: Last trip: IMG_4822.jpgLondon!

 

 

Published by: aliserafoth

I made the decision to come to Florence about a year ago. Although I decided a long time ago I did not believe I was truly going. Listening to the amazing memories past students made encouraged me to go. Before leaving I had fearful thoughts running through my head at all times. How am I going to adjust? Will anybody speak English? Did I make the right decision? And the one question that never left my head...How am I going to function without my family. After thinking more and more about these questions I found the answer to all of them. If I was not able to adjust or function without my wonderful family, God would have somehow stopped me. I am here not because of luck but because this was in God's plan for me.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment